Dutch National Feast Days and Holidays 2015

0

In my scheme of the major national feast days in Holland you also find  a schedule of the Dutch School Holidays. It can be interesting to connect your trip with feast days or events. Cities like Utrecht can be very quiet during school holidays as there are living 35.000 students in Utrecht that leave on vacation in summertime. Their departure has great impact on the city’s social life.

In the Netherlands school holidays are organized by region and by type of school.  There are three regions: north, central and south. Scroll down to overview the details.

Planning your trip to Holland

When you plan your trip to Holland in Dutch holiday periods from one side you will enjoy more activities than off to the holiday season and on the other side certain cities are very quiet as most people left on a vacation. Amsterdam, the beach resorts and the Dutch Isles will be crowded in summer while cities inland can be nicely quiet. Take a look at my  Events Calender as well. I selected a broad range of events for you. In the summertime all over the country concerts and parties are going. Make your choice and have a good time.

 

DUTCH HOLIDAYS 2015
National Holiday
  Date Day off the week Week number
New Year’s Day January 1 Thursday Week 1
Good Friday April 3 Friday Week 14
Easter Sunday April 5 Sunday Week 14
Easter Monday April 6 Monday Week 15
Kings Day April 27 Monday Week 18
Liberation Day May 5 Tuesday Week 19
Ascension May 14 Thursday Week 20
Whit Sunday May 24 Sunday Week 21
Whit Monday May 25 Monday Week 22
Christmas Day December 25 Friday Week 52
Boxing Day December 26 Saturday Week 52
New Years Eve December 31 Thursday Week 53
Other Holidays
  Date Day off the week Weeknumber
Epiphany January 6 Tuesday Week 2
Carnival February 15 Sunday till Tuesday Week 7
Valentine’s Day February 14 Saturday Week 7
Witte Thursday April 2 Thursday Week 14
Summertime
Clock goes one hour forward in time
March 29 Sunday Week 13
Commemoration of the dead May 4 Monday Week 19
Mothers Day May 10 Sunday Week 19
Fathers Day June 21 Sunday Week 25
Ramadan June 18 Thursday Week 26
Eid al-Fitr June 19 Friday Week 31
Prinsjesdag Openingday of Dutch parliament September 15 Tuesday Week 38
Animals Day October 4 Sunday Week 40
Wintertime
Clock goes one hour back in time
October 25 Sunday Week 43
Halloween October 31 Saturday Week 43
Saint Martin November 11 Wednesday Week 46
St. Nicolas December 5 Saturday Week 49
 SCHOOL HOLIDAYS
2015/2016 Northern region Central region Southern region

Pre-school
&
Primary school

Secundary School Pre-school
&
Primary school
Secundary School Pre-school
&
Primary school

Secundary School

Christmas Holiday 2014 20-12-2014 till 4-1-2015
Spring Holiday 21-2-2015 till 1-3-2015 21-2-2015 till 1-3-2015 14-2-2015 till 22-2-2015
May / Tulip Holiday 2-5-2015 till 20-5-2015
Summer Holiday 4-7-2015 till 16-8-2015 11-7-2015 till 23-8-2015 18-7-2015 till 30-8-2015
Autumn Holiday 17-10-2015 till 25-10-2015 17-10-2015 till 15-10-2015 24-10-2015 till 1-11-2015
Christmas Holiday 2015 19-12-2015 till 3-1-2016

 

Share.

About Author

Hennie

Hello, my name is Hennie and I am the creator/designer of this website. Always looking for new adventures, travelled the World and I like to travel some more. That's who I am in a nutshell. Together with some friend and family I like to show the Netherlands to the World. I hope you will enjoy our blog and hope to persuade you to visit our lovely country. Love to see you soon in Holland.

Leave A Reply