Dutch Islands


In the Netherlands, there are two groups of islands. In the North we have the so-called Wadden Sea Islands and in the south the Zeeuwse Islands. The Wadden Sea Islands belong to the providence Friesland and Groningen. The Zeeuwse Islands are part of the providence Zeeland.

The Dutch Islands in the Waddensea

Texel, Vlieland, Terschelling, Ameland, Schiermonnikoog and Rottumeroog.

The Dutch Islands in Zeelland

Goeree-Overflakkee, Schouwen-Duiveland, Sint Philipsland, Tholen, Noord-Beveland, Walcheren, Zuid-Beveland and Zeeuws Vlaanderen. There are also several uninhabited island.

In Zeeland you find the world-famous Delta Works. The Delta Works are designed to defend the coast of Zeeland. After the North Sea floods in 1953 the authorities decided to construct the Delta Works. The Delta Works are a series of dams and the most famous one is the Eastern Scheldt storm surge barrier or as we call it the Oosterscheldekering.  After the storm barrier was build a beautiful nature and recreational area for water sports, walking and cycling has arose.


About Author

Hello, my name is Joop and I am the creator/designer of this blog. Always looking for new adventures. I travelled the World and would like to travel some more. Well, that's who I am in a nutshell. Together with some friends and family we like to show the Netherlands to the World. I hope you will enjoy our blog and persuade you to visit our lovely country. Love to see you soon in Holland.

Geef een reactie Reactie annuleren

Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te verminderen. Bekijk hoe je reactie-gegevens worden verwerkt.